The Nevada state law imposes legal duties on all drivers involved in a car accident. These rules apply to crashes such as motorcycle accidents, accidents involving pedestrians, car accidents, accidents involving a commercial vehicle, and truck accidents. According to Naqvi Injury Law, a reputable law firm in Nevada, here are your legal obligations after an auto accident.
What should you do right after an accident?
Immediately following a car accident, you, the driver, should do the following;
- Stop, and find out if the other driver is alright. You should also exchange your contact details and vehicle insurance information with the other driver.
- Move your vehicle out of traffic if only it’s safe to do so
- Offer a reasonable help to anyone injured in the accident. For instance, you can call 911 or make the right arrangements for the injured party to be taken to the hospital.
In case you hit an unoccupied car, you must locate the vehicle owner or even leave your contact information and name in a conspicuous place.
Must you notify the law enforcement authorities about the accident?
The state law requires the drivers involved in a car crash to notify the Nevada Highway Patrol or the nearest police office. There is no need to call the highway patrol team or police if there is a police officer on the scene.
When to report the car crash to DMV
The law requires you to submit a DMV report according to the SR-1 within ten days of an auto accident if one or more of the parties was injured or killed. Besides, you must submit a report if the property damage caused amounts to $750 or more.
You don’t need to report the crash to the DMV if a police officer or the highway patrol team has submitted a report that includes your and the other driver’s contact and vehicle insurance information including coverage rates and policy number. If you aren’t sure if the report submitted by the police or highway patrol authorities contained this information, it’s safe to create a report and submit it to the DMV.
Failure to report an auto accident as and when legally required can warrant the suspension of your Nevada driver license for 12 months.
Report the accident to your auto insurer
Many insurance policies require that you notify the insurance company whenever you get involved in an accident. But many drivers choose not to notify the insurer when they hit a stationary object (in addition to vehicles) and are willing to finance the car repairs. Also, if no one is injured and the responsible driver is willing to pay for the property damage, most drivers choose not to notify their auto insurer.
Note that the police will create a report and the other driver will also create a report about the accident. Sometimes it’s easy to think that you were not at fault and you’re wrong. Or you’re entitled to a partial recovery in accordance with the Nevada comparative advantage negligence law.
If you’re at fault, the other driver will report the accident. Failure to report the crash to your insurer will impact the insurer’s obligation under your policy.